The Lawrence County Sheriff’s Office is here to assist you
As a law-abiding citizen of Lawrence County, in obtaining a permit to carry a concealed pistol. Under Alabama law, Title 13A-11-73, (a) “Except on land under his or her control or in his or her own abode or his or her own fixed place of business, no person shall carry a pistol in any vehicle or concealed on or about his or her person without a permit issued under Section 13A-11-75 or recognized under Section 13A-11-85”. Simply put, under Alabama law, you must have a permit to carry a concealed pistol on your person, in a public place, or to carry a pistol, concealed or not, in your vehicle.
The first requirement to obtain a pistol permit, from the Lawrence County Sheriff’s Office, is that you must reside in Lawrence County. State law requires that you apply and be issued a pistol permit in the County in which you reside; however, the permit, once issued, is valid throughout the State of Alabama, as well as any reciprocal State. The law also requires a Sheriff to conduct a thorough background check to determine whether a person is legally able to be licensed. The Sheriff is prohibited from issuing a license to a person who, by law, would be ineligible for such a license. The first step in obtaining your Lawrence County Pistol Permit is to TRUTHFULLY fill out a Pistol Permit Application. You must then be able to pass a nationwide criminal history background check which will reveal any local, state, or nationwide arrest. Once this background check is complete and you are found to be eligible, you may receive your Alabama pistol permit.
Apply for a new permit or renew an existing permit
Apply in person at the Lawrence County Sheriff’s Office. Payment can be made by cash, check, money order, and debit/credit card.
Lawrence County Sheriff’s Office
242 Parker Road
Moulton, Alabama 35650
You can also use the button below to access our Pistol Permit Application and begin the application/renewal process online.
Cost: $20.00 per year (1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 year increments).
Payment can be made by cash, check, money order, and debit/credit card.
Under state law, the following minimum requirements must be met in order to obtain your Pistol Permit in Lawrence County:
- You must reside in Lawrence County (Title 13A-11-75).
- Provide completely truthful information on the Permit Application (Title 13A-11-81 & 13A-11-75).
- Not be convicted of a crime of violence as defined in Title 13A-11-70.
- You must not be a drug addict, habitual drunkard, or be of unsound mind or have required involuntary inpatient or outpatient treatment in a psychiatric hospital or similar treatment facility for any reason, including drug use (Title 13A-11-72 and Title 13A-11-75).
- You must be a U.S. citizen, a legal alien resident or possess a valid work visa. A person who is unlawfully present in this state may not be issued a permit (Title 13A-11-75).
Under Alabama law, (Title 13A-11-70 and 13A-11-72), persons convicted of the following are forbidden to possess a pistol:
- Manslaughter (except Manslaughter arising out of the operation of a vehicle)
- Assault with Intent to commit Robbery
- Assault with Intent to Murder
- Any Class A or Class B Felony that has as an element serious physical injury, the distribution or manufacture of a controlled substance, or is of a sexual nature involving a child under the age of 12.
The Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 and the Federal Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act of 1997 makes it illegal for a person who fits into any of the following categories to receive or possess a firearm. These laws prevent the Sheriff from issuing a Pistol Permit because it would be illegal for people who fit in these categories, by Federal law, to own or possess a gun.
- A person who has been convicted, in any court, of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.
- A person who is a fugitive from justice.
- A person who is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substance.
- A person who has been adjudicated as mentally defective or has been committed to a mental institution.
- A person who is an alien, illegally or unlawfully, in the United States, or an alien admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa.
- A person who has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.
- A person, having been a citizen of the United States, who has renounced his or her citizenship.
- A person who is subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or child of such intimate partner.
- A person who has been convicted of a crime of domestic violence; such a person cannot lawfully receive, possess, ship, or transport a firearm.
Alabama Reciprocal Gun Law
Since August 1, 2001, the State of Alabama has had the legislative authority to recognize reciprocal concealed weapons permits with other states, due to the passage of Act 2001-494 (Senate Bill 122), which was signed by the Governor on May 15, 2001. This authority is now codified as Title 13A-11-85.
This law allows Alabama concealed weapon permit holders to take their weapons into states that recognize Alabama pistol permits with other states, due to the passage of Act 2001-494 (Senate Bill 122), which was signed by the Governor on May 15, 2001. Title 13A-11-85 now authorizes permit holders from other states to carry a handgun in this state. It applies only while the license holder is not a resident of this state. A license holder from another state shall carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state. The Attorney General shall periodically publish a list of states which recognize licenses issued pursuant to 13A-11-75.
Penalty of Violation
Any person in violation of Alabama’s license to carry a pistol law may be arrested and upon conviction, be subject to a term of imprisonment of not more than one year in the County Jail and a fine of not more than $500, or both. The pistol will be seized and may be forfeited by court order.
“This is for informational purposes only to provide our citizens with up-to-date knowledge about the new gun law that took effect August 1, 2013. The main thing to remember is that individuals of legal age can now obtain a pistol permit and persons convicted of Theft of Property III (misdemeanor) can now obtain a permit.”